Museum Report

 

 

From the Powerful Bodies exhibition I was inspired by the waist bands the Zulu people wore. Symbols of status, they were created to show fertility, martial status, and power. Here are a few examples of the pieces that really stood out to me.IMG_4676IMG_4649IMG_4705

 

Since I was kid I’ve had a fascination with burlesque and pin ups. These women are sex goddesses but they hold all the cards. I never saw them as being subservient but rather they’re powerful figures.

So with these two inspirational sources I’ve decided to make a lingerie set for my final project. I plan on incorporating a garment with a statement waistband inspired by the Zulu people, but styled after the burlesque era. 20131108-140131.jpg

One comment

  1. sounds like an interesting hybrid

Leave a Reply

